01. Goodies (Feat. Petey Pablo)
02. 1,2 Step (Feat. Missy Elliott)
03. Thug Style
04. Hotline
05. Oh (Feat. Ludacris)
06. Pick Up The Phone
07. Lookin’ At You

08. Ooh Baby
09. Next To You
10. And I
11. Other Chicks
12. The Title
13. Goodies (Remix) (Feat. T.I. & Jazze Pha)


Goodies was released on September 28, 2004 via LaFace Records. After writing songs for several established acts, Ciara’s talents were noticed by Jazze Pha, and she began to work on what became Goodies. The album’s conception came through the which the title track, created as a female crunk counterpart to Usher’s “Yeah” and Petey Pablo’s “Freek-a-Leek.” Ciara worked with several writers and producers on the album, including Jazze Pha, Lil Jon, Bangladesh, R. Kelly, Johntá Austin, Sean Garrett, and Keri Hilson, among others.

With Goodies, Ciara was hailed as the “Princess or First Lady of Crunk&B.” The album uses dance music while utilizing pop, R&B, and hip-hop influences. The album delivers contradictory lyrical content, featuring female empowerment and independence-promoting lyrics in songs like the title track, while others show interest in adult activities. Critics gave the album positive to mixed reviews, commending the “Goodies”-esque songs, while deeming others as unoriginal and noting Ciara’s limited vocal abilities. Most critics compared the work to the late singer Aaliyah, and also said it had qualities of Destiny’s Child.

Commercially the album was a success, in the United States, the album debuted at number three on the Billboard 200, selling 124,750 copies in its opening week. It was later certified triple platinum by the RIAA, and as of June 2010, had sold over 2.7 million copies in the United States. The album also fared well internationally being certified Platinum by the Canadian Recording Industry Association (CRIA) and Silver by the British Phonographic Industry (BPI). Goodies earned Ciara two Grammy nominations at the 48th Grammy Awards including Best New Artist and Best Rap/Sung Collaboration for “1, 2 Step.”